Sometimes

Standard

Well folks, I’ve been super moody lately.  Just ask my loved ones—they would probably nod apologetically or raise eyebrow of caution and advise to steer clear.  Who knows! but my patience has been a bit harder to reach, and I’m real sorry to those who have felt the pains from me trying to hold it together! (weak smile)

We can blame it on being a woman and all those fun hormones that come with it, but fear not—this is no diatribe about the “unfairness” of our gender. I like being a girl.  And “fairness” honestly is not a noun to be entertained in this life, is it?

Sometimes you just feel moody! Sometimes you drop the amazing meal that took hours of preparation right onto the dirty floor, ruining half of it. Sometimes you are stuck in horrible traffic when you’re in a hurry.  Sometimes you get in car accidents with light poles (don’t ask. it was a long time ago.).  Sometimes it rains on your camping trip and soaks all your stuff.  Sometimes fun family vacations have to be delayed.  Sometimes you get the flu during an urgent deadline to finish a Masters degree before your probation period runs out. Sometimes you have to completely cancel the fun family vacation because of that urgent deadline and then you get stuck catching the stomach flu anyway.

Sometimes tragedy is an all-too common visitor. Sometimes lives are cut short. Sometimes cruelty is all some people ever know. Sometimes people break both feet right before summer. Sometimes people lose feet. Or arms. Or limbs.

Sometimes things just happen that don’t make sense from our minuscule lens of perspective.

There are so many sometimes that sometimes happen to everyone.

Sometimes, but really most of the time… Life is a challenge.

I don’t have answers to the whys out there. I’m grateful for the internal peace and understanding I’ve found through my faith.  And to add to that, I know that sometimes is only sometimes. It’s not all-the-time. Because today? Well, we’re not feeling so moody.

Leave a comment